Indigenous Tourism Awards

Awards Gala

Every year, a highlight of the IITC is our annual awards gala where we recognize the leaders and exceptional Indigenous tourism experiences from coast to coast to coast.  This year both the Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC) and Indigenous Tourism BC (ITBC) will be celebrating award winners on Thursday, November 14.

One ticket to the awards gala is included with every conference registration. Additional tickets for guests may also be purchased.

Award Categories

Nominations are now open! It takes less than 5 minutes to make a nomination. Please take a moment to nominate an Indigenous tourism experience provider or operator for the following categories.

Nominations must be received by 5:00 p.m. PST October 21, 2019. 

Click here make a nomination.

National Awards

Most Improved Business

Indigenous tourism business who has significantly improved its market/export readiness allowing for a stronger business opportunity and increased their ability to professionally demonstrate Indigenous tourism’s ability to meet and exceed consumer and travel trade expectations.

Best Marketing Campaign

Indigenous tourism business or organization that has planned and activated an effective marketing campaign or program showing real results towards specific goals using any or all of paid, earned, shared or owned media.

Most Inspiring Cultural Ambassador

A representative of an Indigenous business or organization who inspires those around them in the way they represent their culture with visitors, who leads by example and who provides guidance and mentorship to those also looking to find their path towards representing their culture to visitors and guests.

Indigenous Adventure Award

This award is presented to a business who recognizes best practices in Indigenous Adventure travel with a focus on responsibility and sustainability: demonstrating effective sustainable management, maximizing social and economic benefits to the local community and minimizing negative impacts, maximizing benefits to cultural heritage and minimizing negative impacts and maximizing benefits to the environment and minimizing negative impact.

Inspiring Indigenous Culinary Award

This award recognizes a business or Indigenous operator who is significantly raising the profile of Indigenous cuisine and food experiences.

Regional Awards

Remarkable Indoor Cultural Experiences

Exceptional delivery of cultural knowledge and guest experience at Indigenous Cultural Centres, Museums, Galleries, Retail Stores, Food Establishments, Entertainments Centres, and Spa/Retreats.

Exceptional Outdoor Cultural Experiences

Outdoor Adventure, Wildlife Viewing, Outdoor Guided Tours. Exceptional knowledge and delivery of an Indigenous cultural experience and/or adventure in an outdoor environment.

Outstanding Indigenous Accommodations

Hotels, Motels, Accommodations, Cabins, Campgrounds, Lodges.  Excellent lodging experience for guests while incorporating Indigenous themes, design elements and/or cultural experiences.

Customer Service Award

This award recognizes frontline team members whose exceptional customer service contributed to an outstanding travel experience for visitors who are experiencing Indigenous tourism in B.C.